Rural Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee’s mandate is to act as a review panel and sounding board for the Rural Community Program, provide feedback on development of the program’s operating ground rules and provide advice on on-going stakeholder communications, programs and preventive social services in participating rural communities.  Following the FCSS philosophy that self-help contributes to a sense of integrity, self-worth and independence, the programs intent is to help individuals in their community to adopt healthy lifestyles, thereby improving the quality of life and building the capacity to prevent and/or deal with crisis situations should they arise.

The geographic scope of the Rural Community Program includes Camrose County, Village of Bawlf, Bittern Lake, Edberg, Ferintosh, Hay Lakes, New Norway and Rosalind with a population of over 8500 people.  The Rural Community Program is an internally funded Camrose and District Support Services Program and must abide by the FCSS Act and Regulation and maintain municipal autonomy. It must also abide by other provincial and federal legislation and C.D.S.S. Board direction and decisions. Should any issues arise pertaining to approved Rural Community Program planning, they will be noted for the next budget and planning year.

It is equally important to clarify what is not under consideration within this process. The C.D.S.S. Board budget and plan, C.D.S.S. governance, C.D.S.S. Administrative Policy and Procedures, C.D.S.S. Personnel Policy and Procedures, and any and all financial records do not form part of the advisory committee process.

Rural Advisory Committee Terms of Reference