About Us

Located in East Central Alberta, Camrose and District Family & Community Support Services (CDCFSS) is a partnership between the Province of Alberta and the City of Camrose, Camrose County, and the Villages of Bawlf, Bittern Lake, Edberg, Hay Lakes, and Rosalind.

CDFCSS is one of several hundred FCSS (Family and Community Support Services) programs in Alberta, all of which have a mandate to develop, deliver or fund  services that address the preventive social service needs of Albertans.  Although specific services are determined locally, FCSS as a whole operates within Alberta Community and Social Services Services, governed by the FCSS Act and Regulations. Funding is shared, with the province contributing 80% and municipalities contributing 20% of total FCSS revenue.

As an FCSS program, CDFCSS belongs to the FCSS Association of Alberta (FCSSAA).

The CDFCSS Mission Statement reads: “CDFCSS is a partnership between the province and nine participating municipalities committed to supporting local preventive social initiatives to enhance the well-being of individuals, families and the community.”

Anchored by Camrose County serving as Unit Authority, CDFCSS is otherwise self-governed. The Board of Directors is comprised of two City Council representatives, two County Council representatives, and one Villages representative.  Each fall, the  Board of Directors sets the budget for the following year, based on funding requests from local programs (see Funding Information). CDFCSS runs some of its own services (known as “internal programs”) and also funds several independent organizations (known as “external programs”).